HIGH AND LOW CONTEXT CULTURES

highcontext-vs-lowcontext.jpg

WRITE H or L next to these descriptors

  1. Strong sense of insiders and outsiders (high)
  2. Specific information exists (low)
  3. Informal (low)
  4. Team and family activities preferred (High)
  5. Focus on results (low)
  6. Transparency expected (low)
  7. A lot of confidential information (high)
  8. Rules and regulations are easily accessible (low)
  9. Close personal relationships (high)
  10. General information (high)
  11. Elders/authoritative figures in control (high)
  12. “Have a go at it” philosophy (low)
  13. Individual responsibility (low)
  14. Concerned about ‘losing’ face. (high)
  15. Expertise valued (low)
  16. Who you know is important (high)
  17. Focus on task (High)
  18. Emphasis on words and text (low)
  19. Strong sense of family (high)
  20. What you know is important (low)
  21. Gender roles clearly defined (high)
  22. Polite people admired (high)
  23. Reserved (high)
  24. Individual freedom valued (low)
  25. Strong sense of honour (high)
  26. Short term relationships (low)
  27. Process more important than product (high)
  28. Privacy (even when dealing with one’s own family) highly valued
  29. Public admission of wrongdoing expected. (High)
  30. Strong sense of respect (high)
  31. Better response to visual information (high)
  32. Gender roles less fixed (Low)
  33. No direct eye contact (high)
  34. Strong sense of fairness (low)
  35. Verbal agreements (high)
  36. Values logic over feeling (low)
  37. Very rare marriage with outsiders (high)
  38. Clear division of responsibilities at work (low)
  39. Written contracts (low)
  40. Public criticism insulting (high)

Choose from three of the sentences in the document that represent you personality and explain why:

1.Team and family activities preferred:
I like to work with the group because I’m the social figure, and I like to share people my information. and I love my family, we always doing gathering family. I enjoy with this.

2. Direct communication:

I like to contact with people direct, because when I see the people I know what he mean and he know what I mean, also to avoid a problem with a wrong message.

3.Rules and regulations:

I am extremely sorted out, I like to be on time and complete my work regulated and on time which drives me to take after the principles.

One thought on “HIGH AND LOW CONTEXT CULTURES

Leave a comment